top of page

Drinking prosecco, eating pizza

HAPPY NEW YEARS!!!!!!

So for New Years Eve I went to New York City with Hanah, Celina, Nele and Carolin. Carolin is Celina's friend who is currently visiting her from Germany for a week. We didn't know exactly what our plan was going to be and so I found a lovey hotel next to Grand Central called The Hyatt Hotel. It was a lovely, big, s p a c i o u s room and we were local to everything so we could do whatever we decided we wanted to do. We decided that we would go to Central Park as there was an outdoor party there. We got to NYC around 4pm and went straight to the hotel and relaxed there; getting ready, drinking prosecco, eating pizza and playing games. I bought lots of games to play - Speak Out, Dobble, Cards Against Humanity and a Pictionary style of game.

Whilst we were in the hotel I facetimed my friends back home in the UK and loads of them were all celebrating NYE together so I got to speak to loads of my friends which was really nice!! Shout-out to Sophie, Georgie, Vickie, Keziah, Lee, Callum and Alanna! It was so cute and lovely to speak to you all!! I also facetimed my Mumma, Paul, Melissa and Glenn at 7pm as it was midnight and New Years for them in the UK! But they were all just sitting at home drinking tea, haha!

At 10pm we headed out. We asked 3 NYPD guys which way to Central Park as we got a little lost and we got chatting to them. They told us that they were specified in terrorism and their job is basically to look out for terrorists and suspicious behaviour... haha! They were really nice! I was never sure what to think of US police but these guys made me think they aren't all so bad.

We ended up getting a taxi to Central Park and we tried to get in to the main area where the music was but it was closed off. It was 11.45pm so we just about had enough time to find a space to sit in the grassy area. It was very busy but everyone was happy and chatting to one another. At midnight there was a countdown and then there were some very nice fireworks. They went on for around 15-20 minutes and then we decided to walk around the city. Unfortunately at about 1am it started to rain and so we took a taxi back to the hotel and ordered more pizza! We then stayed up chatting for a bit and then went to bed.

The next day we went to Times Square and saw the aftermath of NYE. Confetti everywhere! We went for lunch at Olive Garden and we went into a few shops. At around 3pm we took the train back home.

I did enjoy New Years Eve in New York but it definitely was over-rated. I would compare it to NYE in London. Its good to say you have done it and it is an experience but there are so many people and in the end, wherever you are, all you see is fireworks. Maybe it would have been different if we were in Times Square. My friends I was with made it a very fun and a very lovely experience though!

bottom of page