top of page

I am going so fast - I crash right into him!

Today we went as a family to Butternut to go snow tubing!

We had such a fun time!

We all went snow tubing apart from Beverly as she was too small, so myself, Gwen and Keith took it in turns to hold her at the bottom to watch, but she loved it too! She really enjoyed watching everyone come down in the snow. It was quite cold and there was so much real snow which made the tubing tracks, something I haven't seen before! The kids had to go down in their own tube on their own, so initially we were worried about how they would react, so we just decided to not tell them and when it was their turn we just pushed them down and waved g o o d b y e... Cameron was smiling, laughing, happy and excited. Avery was so funny, she didn't have any reaction. Her facial expression didn't change what-so-ever and she was just looking around as she was speeding down the hill in the tube! Altogether I went down around 5 or 6 times and I went down sitting and also went down on my tummy.

You could either walk up to the top of the hill or you could take a flat escalator up to the top of the hill. If you took the escalator everyone had to stand up, including the kids which they found really difficult as the floor is moving. So at one point Cameron and Avery were sitting in their tubes so myself and Gwen decided to walk up and pull them up too. 5 steps in and my legs were on FIRE and I was so out of breath I felt like I was going to keel over! It was a steep hill, AND walking up it in the snow, AND pulling along my snow tube AND pulling Avery up in her snow tube!

It was so much fun, you actually pick up a lot of speed when you're going down! I had my GoPro to video going down and the last video I got was so, so funny! Cameron didn't understand that when he got to the bottom of the track that he had to move out the way, he just waited for someone to pull him out the way in his tube. So he went down first and he was just waiting at the bottom sat in his tube and then I come down, and I am going so fast - I crash right into him! And I got it all on the GoPro, it is hilarious!

Afterwards we went out to dinner at a restaurant and it was really good food! It was primarily known for being a great pie restaurant but they did offer other foods too. I had a steak pie and it was really good. For dessert I had a slice of lemon meringue pie which was the best I have ever had in my life.

bottom of page