top of page

I was so lucky and felt so special

What an amazing couple of days it has been!!!

Merry Christmas!!!

Yesterday, Christmas Eve, we had a huge celebration. Me and Gwen set the big dining room table with all nice glasses and made a centrepiece. Gwen made it by using greenery from outside; holly, ferns, twigs, and also adding fake red berries and some clementine's. It looked amazing when she was done, she is very creative like that.

In the morning I face-timed Mumma and I opened some of my presents with her. Lots of chocolate, lots of sweets, a bath towel, another little good luck voodoo doll and lots of other little goodies! I opened my presents from Fiona - a huge, soft, very warm onesie, an elephant t-shirt and some string and pegs to hang my polaroid photos. I opened too my present from Nicola - some cute notecards, chocolate, I am so touched at all the cards and presents I have received from friends and family in the UK!

Everyone began to arrive for the Xmas Eve celebrations at around 4pm. Gwen's mom and dad (Jackie and Stephen), Emily, Jordan, Maddie Jo and Brittany and Alex all came over to celebrate! I hadn't met Brittany and Alex before (Gwen's sister and her boyfriend) and they were so friendly and nice! So everyone arrived and we started having some drinks, chatting and then started eating the first starter - a cheeseboard, prawns and clams. I didn't eat any of the seafood but I had lots of the cheese and it was good! Cameron then handed out all his gifts he had bought. (Gwen had taken him to the dollar store to pick out gifts for everyone himself) he bought me some socks! So cute!! Then all the children opened their presents from family. After this there was a visitor! Santa Clause!!! (Alex had dressed up as Santa). Avery and Beverly were so scared! It was the same as when we went to the mall to see Santa though, they didn't like him then either! Santa Clause stayed for a bit and handed out some presents and then left, it was so nice! Then the children went to bed... Adult time! Then it was time for our second starter. We all sat down and ate risotto. It was lobster risotto but I had mine served before the lobster was added. After this we had our main meal which was steak, roast potatoes, vegetables and I made Yorkshire puddings too! They were really good! We had Christmas Crackers too! After this we all sat and chatted and swapped Christmas presents. Gwen, Keith, Stephen and Jackie were all so generous with their gifts. I was so lucky and felt so special. Like, really part of the family. I was given chocolate, gift cards, money, clothing, puzzles, a journal and some homemade caramels. Gwen and Keith also got me the most beautifully crafted, cutest, loveliest little storage booklet. Its like a purse/folder and when you open it there are lots of different compartments for money, passport, travel documents, bookings, coins, etc. I really love it so much! I gave Gwen, Keith, Jackie and Stephen the canvas' I made with the kids and their gifts too - I am glad they liked everything. After we all swapped and shared gifts we then went back to the table for dessert. Jackie had made an oreo cream pie which was so tasty! We all ate food, chatted, shared stories and drank and at around 12.30am everybody left and we went to sleep.

Christmas morning and we all went downstairs together as a family. The kids found that Santa Clause had left them suitcases and a ticket to Disneyland along with some other presents too. Gwen and Keith also got me more stocking gifts; earrings, a mug, some toiletries and biscuits. I am so lucky!! I facetimed Mumma and opened the rest of my presents - a kindle and a case for it (exactly what I wanted - thank you Mumma and Paul!), more chocolate, sweets and other bits and pieces. She then stood the camera up so everyone could open their little present from me - a little mini lego figure of a character that matched them. I also facetimed with Auntie Joanne, Uncle Mark, Adam, Chloe, Budd, the kids, Sarah and Luke, Auntie Lisa and Uncle Pete. Then we all got ready to go to Jackie and Stephen's house. We had another big delicious meal there. We started with a meat and cheese platter, then we had lasagne. Then the main meal which was like a big roast dinner. Pork, ham, vegetables, artichokes, cauliflower cheese and bread. The food was so good. Puddings was a big variety, there were 9(!!) desserts but I stuck with my absolute favourite - the English Toffee Pie, YUM YUM YUM!!!

After food we all relaxed together, chatting and enjoying each others company before heading home.

I have felt a little homesick the last couple of days. Naturally - seeing my family all together at Christmas is bound to make me miss everyone and miss home, but it has been made SO much easier being in such lovely, kind, loving, fantastic company. I have enjoyed spending Christmas here and really it is something I wont ever forget.

I feel so happy and at home here.

I am so lucky.


bottom of page