top of page

My absolute favourite... Caramel Pie!

Happy Thanksgiving!

(Yesterday we had a Thanksgiving Eve Taco Party! Gwen and Keith invited the neighbor’s and their friends over and we all ate, drunk and shared stories. The food was good and the company was even better. Back to today...)

This special day started with pancakes for breakfast! Then we all got in the car and started our journey to Brooklyn, NYC, to Gwen’s sister’s house to celebrate thanks giving as a family. Gwen’s sister, Emily and her boyfriend, Jordan, live in the bottom floor of a brownstone apartment with their little girl, Maddy Jo. Their apartment is so small that they had dismantled their bed and moved out all their bedroom furniture and set up a dining table in there as it’s the biggest room.

When we arrived there was bread, cheese and meats on the table for everyone to help themselves to as a starter. I was introduced to everybody. Gwen’s Mom and Dad, Jackie and Steve, were there (I have already met them a few times before… they are LOVELY!), Emily, Jordan and their little girl Maddy Jo, Jordan’s Mom, Jordan’s sister and her boyfriend and Gwen’s Great Aunt.

We all chatted and had a few drinks and then it was time for dinner. It looked lovely. The table was nicely set up and there was so much food; turkey, stuffing, different types of potatoes, corn, brussel sprouts, carrots, peas and artichoke - I have never eaten artichoke before and I didn’t know if I would like it but I tried some. It was artichoke stuffed with garlic and cheese. You have to tear off a ‘leaf’ and then scrap the contents off with your teeth. I really liked it! I had nearly half an artichoke!

Once we had all eaten dinner it was time for dessert. Jackie had made all the desserts; chocolate mousse, apple pie and my absolute favourite... caramel pie! It was so good! It had ice cream, cream, biscuit chunks, caramel chunks, fudge pieces and caramel sauce inside.

After dessert we all sat talking, sharing stories of our lives and playing silly games.

I had such a lovely time celebrating such a special day, a true American tradition.

bottom of page